Open Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Disable ability to change profiles

  • 1.  Disable ability to change profiles

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Feb 27, 2020 09:56 AM

     Hi All

    Do you know if there is any way to lock specific users out of changing their roles (settings – my settings – role center).

    I am thinking I could do it with permissions but not sure the right one to use.

    Thanks
    Jenn



    ------------------------------
    Jenn Claridge
    Manufacturing Consultant
    Sabre Limited
    Cambridge Ontario Canada
    ------------------------------
    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 2.  RE: Disable ability to change profiles

    Posted Feb 27, 2020 12:15 PM

    Jenn,

    You can disable personalization on a Role Center so that anyone assigned to the Role will not be able to customize their view.  Couple of thoughts on this:

    1)  Make a copy of an existing Profile (Role) and label the new one - NO EDIT.  Disable personalization.

    2)  Assuming you're in BC, users can click on My Settings under the Setting gear and switch to a different Role.  You'll need to think that through a bit.  There's a tickbox to hide the role from the Role Explorer but that does hide the role from the role assist menu on My Settings.  I haven't been able to find a way to prevent a user from changing to a different role under My Settings.

    3)  When you disable personalization on the profile, the personalization option doesn't appear when selecting the settings gear.  You'll need to make sure all the pages in the Profile are rock solid.  For example, if the dimensions aren't on the general journal page assigned to the No Edit role, then the users will not be able to personalize and add them to their page.


    Hopefully this helps a bit.

    Mark



    ------------------------------
    Mark Daugherty
    DSWi
    Sugar Land TX
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


  • 3.  RE: Disable ability to change profiles

    TOP CONTRIBUTOR
    Posted Feb 28, 2020 09:08 AM
    Edited by Mark Anderson Feb 28, 2020 09:08 AM
    Hi Jenn

    the only way I could figure out how to do this was take away all permissions except Read on User Personalization table.

    They will still be able to choose a new role center, but will get an error when they click OK. (Not very elegant, but it works)

    haven;t tested in production yet



    ------------------------------
    Mark Anderson
    Director of ERP Systems
    Clesen Wholesale
    Evanston, IL
    ------------------------------

    Academy - Online Interactive Learning from Experts


If you've found this thread useful, dive deeper into User Group community content by role